Boston Fake Tech Jobs

Over the past few years I’ve noticed a pattern of certain New England tech employers constantly having the same software development and QA positions open month after month. Sometimes year after year. I’ve applied for many of these positions at these companies and typically have not been able to obtain initial interviews other than a couple with junior HR recruiters. This was true even before both the pandemic and the last year of tech layoffs but now seems to be more prevalent than ever before.

I have more programming and QA experience in a wide variety of industries and domains than all other local candidates so my failure to get an initial interview for these positions at these companies is most revealing ( I share low salary expectations by the way). I also know several other senior QA developers in New England who have shared that they have had the same experience at these companies.

Some of the positions listed have thousands of applicants revealing that these companies have little regard for the amount of time and energy wasted by those applicants for these fake jobs. Many of the job descriptions reveal organizations with fundamental development quality issues that can’t be fixed by adding more QA processes and people at the final quality verification step. The list of responsibilities for fixing upstream issues usually shows organizational issues in quality that will not be fixed by QA hires. Others may be using them as tools for immigration visas which require proving no local qualified candidates exist which is not hard to do when that is the actual goal – it is also how I obtained my own immigrant visa so I know it happens.

Here’s my personal “New England Hall Of Shame Employers With Fake Tech Jobs They Never Actually Fill in 2023”

  • Fidelity
  • Citizens
  • StateStreet
  • HarvardUniversity
  • FoundationMedicine
  • TechTarget
  • Moderna

Leave a comment